Pakistan General Elections, 2018: In a Nutshell

A brief guide about the dates, contestants, and background of the Pakistan General Elections, 2018.

Pakistan General Elections, 2018- in a nutshell

Pakistan is going to vote a new government to power amidst the incumbent government’s involvement in a number of corruption cases. Last year, Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was dismissed from the office by the Supreme Court after his name cropped up in Panama Papers case. Pakistan is yet to see any prime minister completing his or her full term in office.

Here is what you need to know about the Pakistan General Elections:

When is Pakistan going to polls?

Wednesday, July 25. Polling begins at 8 am (05:00 GMT) and ends at 6 pm.

Who are the contestants?

The contest will mainly be between Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) party, led by Nawaz Sharif, and the opposition Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) led by Imran Khan.

Related Articles:

The other parties contesting the polls are Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), led by Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, and the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA).

When will the results be out?

The results will be out within a day.

How do the polls take place?

The eligible electorates can exercise their franchise for two seats in each constituency: one for the National Assembly and one for their Provincial Assembly.

Who is the favorite?

Cricketer turned politician Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf may turn out be the winner as the incumbent Pakistan Muslim League- Nawaz is facing fierce criticism owing to its involvement in corruption cases.