Row over the Halal Status of Covid Vaccine; Muslims from All over the World Concerned

While most vaccine companies claim to be making halal vaccine, Muslim clerics and other religious groups are still concerned about it being pork-free.

0
Row over the Halal Status of Covid Vaccine; Muslims from All over the World Concerned.THE POLICY TIMES

It is a fact that pork gelatin is used in some vaccines to keep it safe during storage and transport but the Muslims and some active religious group members find it inappropriate as it doesn’t go with the halal status. Pork is anyway forbidden in Islam and thus its presence in any form is also prohibited. So in case of covid vaccine development, there are reports in Indonesia and other parts of the world that pork driven gelatin is used for its preservation. So, how is it going to affect the covid vaccination process amongst Muslims from all over the world?

Halal status always a concern for Muslims from all over the world

Consuming halal food and other stuff is mandatory for every Muslim and thus, finding it anywhere they go out is a tough task. Of late it has come in the way of getting a covid vaccine. It is being speculated that the covid vaccine consists of pork driven gelatin that is prohibited in Islam. The Muslim clerics and diplomats are concerned about whether it would be rightful to get the vaccine if it contains the pork gelatin.

Moderna, Pfizer, and AstraZeneca say they have no pork-link

The vaccine companies that are on the verge of producing the covid vaccine and almost on the last part of the trial phase say that their vaccine is completely halal and do not contain any pork related ingredients. Through the spokesperson of Moderna, Pfizer and AstraZeneca said that their vaccine is pork-free; a large number of the Muslim population is still to receive the vaccine that hasn’t been certified to be pork-gelatin free. In many parts of the world, several vaccines have been produced in a way that it is certified with a halal status. Indonesian president said, “Public communication regarding the halal status, price, quality, and distribution must be well-prepared”.

Also read: India Sees Hope; Covid Vaccine Likely To Be Available By 2021

What the clerics are saying

The clerics have a different opinion about the vaccine process. Some say that it can be injected in the mode of the vaccine while some say it cannot be taken in any form. “According to Jewish law, the prohibition on eating pork or using pork is only forbidden when it’s a natural way of eating it. If it’s injected into the body, not (eaten) through the mouth, then there is no prohibition and no problem, especially when we are concerned about sicknesses,” said Rabbi David, the chairman of a rabbinical organization in Israel.

The Policy Times suggestion

  • Going by religious views and abiding by its rules is a personal choice of every person. They may or may not follow all rules depending upon their own perception. But in no religion, it is mentioned that anything is above saving a life. If the vaccine is for the security of our lives then there must be no concern over its halal status.
  • Also, given the sentiments of the Muslims and other religious groups, the vaccine makers must also keep in mind whether it is possible to avoid any kind of pork indulgence in the vaccine making process. If it is possible then they must go with this process to avoid any kind of concern amongst its consumers.

Also read: Is It Possible To Get Covid-19 Vaccine By The End Of 2021? The Ray of Hope Remains High

Summary
Article Name
Row over the Halal Status of Covid Vaccine; Muslims from All over the World Concerned
Description
While most vaccine companies claim to be making halal vaccine, Muslim clerics and other religious groups are still concerned about it being pork-free.
Author
Publisher Name
THE POLICY TIMES
Publisher Logo